Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 "Rest" after DM/Samyama
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

iamthat

India
14 Posts

Posted - Sep 28 2023 :  10:28:50 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi All,

How to rest after practices(not do anything for 5-10 minutes), is it same as Paravastha (as they say it) after the Kriya Practice in kriya yoga schools?

Although i have been doing AYP for a few years now, i donot know why this thing never crossed to my mind earlier, i just use to lie down and dose off with alarm chimer in phone for 5-7 minutes ,may be the practice has started to evelove a bit lately.
Now i think that i might be missing something if i am taking nap in the rest period,
Whereas if i don't lie down mind resumes its usual chatter.

Any thoughts/advice will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in Advance

IAMTHAT

SeySorciere

Seychelles
1553 Posts

Posted - Sep 28 2023 :  11:17:15 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
It is perfectly ok to take a nap during the rest period.

Sey
Go to Top of Page

Wil

Sweden
156 Posts

Posted - Sep 28 2023 :  9:51:31 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Rest in AYP is a necessity for self-pacing and not specifically with regard to how much bliss that is occurring.

I think Paravastha can be associated with meditation and/or staying with bliss which may mislead from AYP-style resting.

Rest is as you say, to do noting, like a child in repose. No need for bliss or any directives.
Go to Top of Page

Drystone

United Kingdom
31 Posts

Posted - Sep 30 2023 :  10:02:47 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi there,