Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 New to DM am I doing it right?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

bbqmaster

Canada
24 Posts

Posted - Jul 08 2020 :  12:17:40 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello all,

I'm new to AYP but not new to yoga in general. Not at all experienced with DM. Started DM as instructed in the AYP lessons since about a week ago and this thing keeps happening.

My breath gets slow and silent on the inhale, then explosive (but effortless) on exhale, much like during sleep. I then seem to be very aware of the Centre of my skull (Ajna presumably?) and random imagery tends to appear there. All this time I'm trying to stay with I Am mantra.

It then feels like something is opening or expanding inside my skull - and I try not to think about it as we are not supposed to localize the mantra, but it seems very easy to kind of get lost in that imagery. When I do, the mantra stops. When I get back to the mantra, the images vanish for a bit.

I guess my question is, am I doing it right or am I just falling asleep?

Edited by - bbqmaster on Jul 08 2020 12:18:47 PM

Christi

United Kingdom
4363 Posts

Posted - Jul 11 2020 :  07:03:20 AM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi bbqmaster,

Yes, your practice is correct. Whenever you notice that you are off the mantra, simply easily favour the mantra with your attention again. So, it does not matter if your attention is being drawn away by thoughts, or imagery in the mind, or sensations, or the breath. Simply follow the procedure of easily favouring the mantra, over anything else happening.