Asanas - Postures and Physical Culture
 Numbness after Siddhasana
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

john

USA
2 Posts

Posted - Dec 22 2006 :  3:13:56 PM  Show Profile  Visit john's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello everyone,

This is my first post. I have been practicing AYP now for almost two months and am really enjoying it.

My question deals with a certain numbness I've experienced after practicing siddhasana during spinal breathing pranayama and meditation. Just a couple of times after getting up from meditation I've noticed that my genitals were completely numb!

It's very similar to when you sleep on your arm in a certain way, cutting off circulation, and wake up, unable to move it... Feeling comes back about a minute after standing up and stretching. I can't help but think perhaps I am practicing incorrectly--perhaps my heel is not pressing in the correct spot.

There is no pain whatsoever, and I really haven't felt any of the pleasurable type sensations that others seem to experience in siddhasana, either (though the first time I practiced it some pretty intense sexual energy did start bubbling up..). It's just strange when you touch yourself "down there" and don't feel anything!

Anyway, I guess I'm just curious if anyone else has experienced this and whether it is a manifestation of purification or simply caused by incorrect practice.

yogani

USA
5201 Posts

Posted - Dec 22 2006 :  3:47:31 PM  Show Profile  Visit yogani's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi John, and welcome!

It can happen from time to time, and it can be minimized. Some get pretty wound up over this one. But after 20-some years, I haven't noticed any deleterious effects from doing siddhasana. Just the opposite. It is a very effective tantra practice, and makes a huge contribution to the rise of ecstatic conductivity.