Building a Daily Practice with Self-Pacing
 Overload
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Rod

France
8 Posts

Posted - Mar 07 2020 :  9:55:29 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I'm looking for advice for practitioners who have hit a brick wall with their practice. I have practiced AYP method for 2-3 years with consistency. Twice daily DM, SBP, did some samyama for a while as well.

I was very much addicted to the practice and found it hard to give up but I had little choice due to some serious problems with overload. It actually took me a while to realise the practice was the problem.

My symptoms were spaceyness, unable to think clearly and logically(a big problem given I am an engineer), clumsiness(had a couple of accidents), quite a few close calls whilst driving, major problems socially and anxiety as well.

I haven't practiced properly for 6 months now and things have improved. My main issue was my ability to do my job was quite badly hampered. I still don't feel I am able to operate at the same level as I used to but I'm just about getting away with it. If I sit for 5 mins just doing breathing meditation I experience the above symptoms for the day so I can't really practice any longer. I still have a strong desire to practice but the AYP method is definitely on hold for now. Major overload with ayam. When I am in overload I generally feel like there is too much energy in my head.

I've since read a lot about grounding and found running and lifting weights to be excellent for me. My main motivation was to hopefully ground enough to allow some meditation time each day but seems like it is still too soon.