Yamas & Niyamas - Restraints & Observances
 Dissections--How do I explain why I don't want to
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Clear Light

USA
1 Posts

Posted - Oct 23 2019 :  1:03:51 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I am a university student majoring in the sciences. One (and possibly several future classes) involves dissection animals. In this class I am taking now, we are supposed to dissect fetal pigs. The argument for why this procedure is acceptable is as follows: the fetal pigs are a byproduct of the meat industry, and they were not removed from their mother with the intent purpose of being used for lab dissections.

I do not think justifying that their deaths and later dissections is OK because another pig was intended to be murdered is valid reasoning. I know the dissections are wrong, and I can feel it in me that the compassionate thing to do would be to end the slaughter of mother pigs and protest dissections.

Two arguments present themselves for why I should participate. One is that if this is my dharma, then I should just do it, even if I think it's completely unnecessary for me to have an education into physiology and anatomy in this manner. Secondly, my abstention means my lab partner will have to do a dissection all on her own, forcing her to do more work because some good-for-nothing goodie person like myself refuses to do the work.