Other Systems and Alternate Approaches
 shambhavi mahamudra,DM,SBP
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

lateralus

USA
59 Posts

Posted - May 22 2016 :  03:58:59 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I've been practicing Isha's Shambhavi Mahamudra for a couple of months now and loving the results. My question is should I practice this as a stand alone practice with a separate DM session later on or can it be treated similar to SBP and go into DM directly following the shambhavi practice.

Also,are there any similarities to the shambhavi mahamudra practice and the spinal breathing practice by AYP? With the shambhavi practice the energy is quite powerful. For those unfamiliar the Shambahvi Mahamudra incorporates

Alternate nostril breathing followed by
AUM chanting then
Rapid Breathing then
Breath retention (on fullness and emptiness of breath) with Whole body bhandas (3 locks) then ending with
5-6 minutes meditation following the breath while focusing on the Anja.

Holy

796 Posts

Posted - May 22 2016 :  7:16:05 PM  Show Profile  Visit Holy's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Lateralus, if you have good results and can perceive Jaggi's presence guiding and boosting the process, you may experience an alteration of this energy flow by adding other practices. But ultimately try and see how it goes.

For adding the witness into your routine Isha also offers three meditations, namely Isha Kriya, Shoonya and samyama. The first one you can learn on YouTube, the second being an advanced and the third an even more advanced technique.

We have very few experience reports here on this forum in regards to Isha practices. Have not shared mine here too, but the hint would be to remain in one system for max smoothness. The other option is trial and learning :)

Your reports are welcome to read :)

Peace and happy practice!
Go to Top of Page

Holy

796 Posts