Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 What does release mean?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Morning

United Kingdom
10 Posts

Posted - Jan 08 2015 :  11:27:31 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have been practising pure awareness meditation for a few years now, which seems to have many similarities to samyama. I can find the stillness / silence fairly easily.

However, I am not sure what it means to release a thought into the silence. Does it mean to just stop thinking it? Or to shift your focus from the vague fuzzy thought to the stillness? Or do you visualise some kind of releasing process?

Dogboy

USA
2242 Posts

Posted - Jan 08 2015 :  12:28:04 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Good Morning Morning, and welcome!

quote:
However, I am not sure what it means to release a thought into the silence. Does it mean to just stop thinking it? Or to shift your focus from the vague fuzzy thought to the stillness? Or do you visualise some kind of releasing process?

Yes. Yes. And yes. Deep Meditation is inward flowing, samyama is outflowing. They make a perfect couple! I like to think of the sutra as a balloon on a string. You release the string and watch it sail away. It's really that simple, no effort to it.
Go to Top of Page

Morning

United Kingdom
10 Posts

Posted - Jan 08 2015 :  12:42:06 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Thank you!

And cheers for the response - that was pretty simple :)

I only tried samyama (ie, what I think of as a pure awareness meditation with a sutra and releasing of sutra added) for the first time yesterday, and I experienced a mini-miracle this morning. How cool is that? :)

Edited by - Morning on Jan 08 2015 12:47:00 PM
Go to Top of Page

Dogboy

USA
2242 Posts

Posted - Jan 08 2015 :  3:00:06 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Too cool for school
Go to Top of Page