Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Is my pranayama practice too advanced?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

SuryaDeva

USA
13 Posts

Posted - Nov 20 2013 :  6:34:49 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello AYP community!

This is my first post here, sorry I'm a little nervous.

I've been practicing yoga for two years now to get rid of drug and alcohol addiction. First with a private teacher and later on my own with the help of AYP lessons. My practice have not been consistent though because of the terrible drug (benzodiazepines) withdrawal symptoms that I experienced along the way and still experiencing now.

My teacher told me to do lots of pranayama exercises particularly anuloma viloma with breath retention (16:8:16:8 seconds ratio) and emphasized it as the most important foundation of my recovery. He DID NOT teacht me any banhas or mudras or visualization techniques like SBP. I asked him a few times about sambhavi mudra but he said not to do it yet. However out of natural curiosity when I came across AYP lessons I did experiment with incorporating spinal breathing, mulabandha and sambhavi mudra into my anuloma viloma pranayama practice.

The experience was absolutely fantastic - for the first time I felt like I wasn't just wasting my time doing pranayama and everything just "clicked" so to speak. It felt absolutely natural and the two techniques seemed to fit together seemelessly because I'd been practicing anuloma viloma before for about a year and could effotlessly do it for 20-30 minutes twice a day with the ratio of 20:10:20:10 - inhale:hold:exhale:hold.