Tantra - A Holistic View of Spiritual Development
 Pranayama after sex?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

DoctorWho

USA
47 Posts

Posted - Mar 24 2013 :  4:50:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,

Not sure if I should have posted this here or the Tantra thread. But since I'm only beginning to dip my toe into the Tantra concepts I figured this was more Pranayama related.

I'm a married man. The morning after sex I can really notice the feeling of depletion or lower energy when I sit down to practice. I never used to notice this but after a year of practicing DM and SB I've become much more aware of my energy...not to mention much more concerned about how I use it.

This sounds stupid but I feel like I should skip my usual SB practice and give myself time to replenish. It's almost like there's nothing there to work with and I'm trying to force the 'machinery' so to speak. It doesn't feel quite right. Like driving a car without any oil in the engine...I need to put it a few quarts haha!

My guess is that this is just a silly mental construct on my part. But again, it feels weird...like shifting gears too fast (what's with the car analogies??) Any guys out there feel this contrast as well? And should I take a day off of SB, drink a bunch of O.J, eat veggies and replenish ...or jump right back in?

Thanks All!

AYPforum

351 Posts

Posted - Mar 24 2013 :  4:54:48 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Moderator note: Topic moved for better placement
Go to Top of Page

BillinL.A.

USA
375 Posts

Posted - Mar 24 2013 :  7:21:12 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
I definitely feel less energy after sex for a couple days DoctorWho.

But sometimes the practices are easier then because of less stress. Usually there's less light though during Yoni Mudra Kumbhaka which I just love and get lots of motivation from.