Building a Daily Practice with Self-Pacing
 Self pacing to a fault?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

LucienneK

Canada
28 Posts

Posted - Dec 02 2011 :  5:12:50 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have been practicing for a few years now and have found that I am a sensitive meditator. Right now I have been doing 12 minutes of DM twice a day with lots of rest afterwards and things have been going great for quite a while. I have tried a few times to add to my practice, most recently 3 minutes of spinal breathing. I did this for 2 days but ended up only being able to have a morning practice both days. On the second day, I got kinda emotional,(which isn't that unheard of as I am 4 months pregnant! ) and had a headache which finally left this morning. I ended up leaving out the spinal breathing today and have felt better.

My question is, can there be a bit of normal overload that happens for a short period after adding to your practice? Maybe more so for sensitive practitioners? Should I push through the overload a little bit and see if things will smooth out?

I'm getting a little frustrated as I feel like I'm stuck at a stand still. I would really like to further my practice and continue to grow and strengthen from it but feel as though every time I try to take a tiny step forward, I'm pushed back two.

Thanks in advance for any input!

Edited by - LucienneK on Dec 02 2011 9:03:49 PM

Yaming

Switzerland
112 Posts

Posted - Dec 03 2011 :  3:42:07 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply