Yoga, Science and Philosophy
 Contemplation vs Meditation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Mikananda

USA
90 Posts

Posted - Nov 25 2011 :  5:02:46 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Greetings to All

I would like to start out this discussion with a little background on myself in order to have a better understanding of my present concern. I have been practicing yoga for about 15 years. I joined early on and am presently a member of SRF. I first became acquainted with AYP about 7 years ago. I have and more so recently been adding AYP techniques to my regular SRF practices. The concern I have presently is that as I begin my meditations (both SRF and AYP) I quickly get caught up in my thoughts and begin to focus on verses and other ideas that I lack clear understanding. Upon directing my attention to these, I very quickly get profound deep meanings to these ideas. The problem is I seem to enjoy this very much. It is almost like having a mental orgasm. As such, I am finding it very difficult let go and just do the prescribed routine. I am not sure if this is a problem or not. I know AYP refers to this as scenery. Again the trouble I am having is letting go of it. Perhaps I should just enjoy for now and let it pass latter on. Any thoughts or suggestions are welcomed

AumNaturel

Canada
687 Posts

Posted - Nov 25 2011 :  7:33:52 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Mikananda,

If it helps to just know, you're not alone with that.

I have also noticed that the insights even appear deeper or are perhaps appreciated better while meditating as opposed to outside of that state while reflecting back. Sometimes the insights just spring up on their own, and at times do not make much sense if taken too far outside grasping them in an abstract intuitive sense.