Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Sleepy Meditation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

anthony574

USA
549 Posts

Posted - Dec 28 2007 :  11:23:53 AM  Show Profile  Visit anthony574's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hey everyone!

I am experiencing something odd in my practice nowadays. I have been doing meditation for about 9 months and have never experienced this. Now, I'd say 4 out of 5 times that I do my practice I end up nodding off during meditation, or falling asleep when I'm resting afterwards (mostly both!). I attributed this to a new job where I work very early hours, however, even on days when I have had a lot of sleep consecutively it keeps happening. I haven't worked in nearly a week and it keeps happening. During meditation I will find following the mantra to be like trying to hold onto a slippery rock while a strong current in pushing me off. I drift heavily into what I suppose is the Chitta and sometimes forget where I am or think I am somewhere else, all kinds of bizzare things. And of course afterwards I find myself falling asleep, which is turning out to be quite inconvenient. Is this a phase people often find themselves going through?

Shanti

USA
4854 Posts

Posted - Dec 28 2007 :  1:33:31 PM  Show Profile  Visit Shanti's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Anthony,
It's just a phase. At times there is purification happening that can result in deep sleep during meditation and rest.
I have experienced it.. and it can be annoying esp. when you think that it is not how meditation should be. It's not like you can do much about it, so just go with it.. it will last for as long as it needs to and then go away.. like any of the other phases.

It was discussed here..
Asleep during Mediation?
sleeping during meditation

Maybe this lesson will help.
Lesson 17 - Meditation Q&A – Was I asleep?
Go to Top of Page

riptiz

United Kingdom
741 Posts