AYPsite.org Forum
 Other Systems and Alternate Approaches
 Gayatri mantra
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

x.j.

304 Posts

Posted - Nov 27 2007 :  4:40:25 PM  Show Profile  Visit x.j.'s Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I am new to AYP, and wanted to sound off perhaps naively and prematurely on a topic that may have been addressed somewhere on this wonderful and amazing website already, but couldn't contain my enthusiasm. My subject of interest is a very dear practice to my heart, called the Gayatri mantra. This has a central place in my meditation practice. Though I come from a Vipassana (Buddhist) meditation background, which is a meditation on the breath, I began little experiments in my practice. I wanted to see what enlivened the ecstatic conductivity, and what suppressed it. Diet was found to be very important. Exploring grief,which resonates at the center for me, and sitting with that, embracing that, within the stillness, was incredibly fruitful. All the wonderful practices of AYP are incredibly important and enlivening in my experience: Spinal breathing, pranayama,khumbaka with yoni mudra, chin pump,trataka with yantras, service to others, etc. But I see no mention of Gayatri mantra here. This has been for me, a doorway into Bhakti yoga. Many consider Gayatri to be "supreme" as far as mantras go, whatever that may mean, and it is said that Lord Krishna stated, "Of all the mantras, I am Gayatri." I feel great humility in writing anything on an AYP forum, because of the wonderful and amazingly insightful and eloquent posts here,and because I probably will stand corrected, which I welcome, but couldn't resist saying the above, since Gayatri has been so incredibly beautiful to explore, and so opening. There is a CD recording by I believe "India Times" recordings of Gayatri being chanted 108 times. Also, an author by the name of Thomas Ashley Farrand has a number of books and audio CD's