AYPsite.org Forum
 Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Deep sleep - connection to realization?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Anthem

1608 Posts

Posted - Apr 04 2006 :  12:06:34 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Over the last many months of AYP practices I have had a lot of interesting experiences in and around going to sleep and waking up. Some of the experiences that stand out are ones where my awareness seemed to become fully conscious of it/myself in one way or another.

What I am wondering is why when we sleep does this awareness of our true nature seem more accessible? Why when we are awake are we not able to see with the same clarity or experience that same reality? Hopefully people will comment on these questions.

If you are interested in the experiences here they are:

The first one that stands out, occurred about 6 months back when I awoke floating beside my body with an incredible expansive feeling of peace and bliss in my heart and body (I guess my energy body since I felt slightly above and beside my physical one). I was able to float there and enjoy this open and unfettered state, I imagine this feeling I experienced as a glimpse to where our AYP practices are taking us.

The second, more recently, was just before falling asleep. Things felt quiet inside and I became aware of being which was very peaceful and comforting. The moment I tried to think about what it was that I was feeling, I went away from being. If I tried doing nothing, I went again away from just being. When I stopped any effort in any direction, (without trying to stop) I could "be again" this unfettered isness deep inside. I know this is a very crummy description, but the best I can do though! This experience offered me good insight into what those like Tolle, Krishnamurti, Sailor Bob etc. mean when they say you can't do anything to realize yourself just be.