Asanas - Postures and Physical Culture
 Development of experiences of asanas
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

TensorTympani

USA
64 Posts

Posted - Dec 29 2022 :  12:04:01 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi there,

I thought I write about this topic because other newbies of the skeptical sort (like myself) could find encouragement/motivation to try out AYP after reading about my experiences. I'm also curious about feedback or suggestions, and could give more details on the specifics of the asanas if anyone is interested.

I'm a scientist by profession and quite a skeptic. I found to AYP through the "Wim Hof Method", which shares (maybe just superficially) certain aspects of AYP: My Wim Hof routine consisted of 10 min "Wim Hof Breathing", followed by a few (maybe 5) minutes of meditation, and then stretching using the three poses you see in the attached screenshots from Wim's video course https://drive.google.com/drive/fold...?usp=sharing . The first asana is Mahamudra. I don't know the name of the other poses but they involve extension and flexion of the spine. All three poses felt very good after sitting in meditation. And so I kept doing them after switching to AYP, where I finish off my 30-40 min AYP sitting practice routine with these three asanas (after the rest phase).