Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 DMT-like experience after bastrika pranayama
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

MindIbniM

USA
3 Posts

Posted - Sep 17 2020 :  7:47:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Namste

So I'm quite new to the forum, and to yoga practices in general. However, I have some experience with psychedelic drugs. Actually, it was one of the things that led me to start advanced yoga.

There is this one very special drug called DMT, which allows you to seemingly enter another dimension. It's no joke - probably the most prominent experience of my life. I've done it only once and had full-on ego death, timelessness and something that felt like meeting the Divine mother.

Doing DMT also has a very distinct feeling to it. Or rather a pattern of feelings. It starts with a high-pitched noise and is followed by the numbing of the body. Then it feels like you're falling inside your own head, going deeper and deeper. The feeling is concentrated somewhere in the middle of the head.

I have started doing AYP practices about a month ago on a steady basis - half an hour of asanas, 10 minutes spinal breathing and 20 minutes deep meditation.

A couple of days ago I tried doing bastrika - for just a couple of minutes or so. I do rapid breathing, then take a full breath in, and stretch my upper body up as much as I can. It feels like a rush of energy comes in waves - and carries me away with it. I let it pump into my head and then hold my breath. What happens next is identical to the DMT onset. I even have my hands shaking as I'm leaving the body.

I haven't reached a so-called breakthrough yet :) It's mostly these feelings, with no visuals.

So I wanted to ask the experienced yogis: what the heck?
Seriously, how is it called? Is Samadhi coming next?
Are there any known levels to it? What should I expect?