Building a Daily Practice with Self-Pacing
 some questions on pacing breathing exercises
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

RS445

USA
2 Posts

Posted - Mar 27 2018 :  8:41:47 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello everyone,

Just joined the forum, hope I'm posting this in the right place. I have been practicing yoga casually for the past 10 years and I've just started to explore breathing exercises with the hopes of eventually starting meditation. I've been using a free app called "Pranayama Universal breathing" by Saagara for the past 6 months or so. The app has a few beginner variations, each 7 minutes long. Here is what happened:

- I started doing the 7 minute sequence once a day in the morning and gradually worked up to 2-3 times a day over the course of a few months
- I immediately noticed positive changes in my mindset and overall mood
- But I also noticed that when I did get flustered or upset my reaction would be way more severe than before. If I were to rate my mental state from 1-10, 1 being perfectly calm and accepting and 10 being fully stressed and irritable: my normal state would probably be a 6 or 7. Doing the breathing exercises would bring me down to a 3 or 4, but then I'd spike up to a 8 or 9 for short periods of time.
- After noticing this I cut back to once a day or nothing at all and returned to my normal half stressed state lol
- Over time I noticed that I started breathing more from the belly or diaphragm rather than from the chest (which I think is a good thing?)
- But I would also sometimes find myself short of breath and having to raise my shoulders and chest to take in more air
- Again I would cut back after experiencing this
- I've sort of been stuck in this pattern for the past 6 months

My questions:
- Is it possible to progress without having the mood spikes or shortness of breath?