Yoga and Relationships
 How do I stop looking down on others?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

redbushlighter

USA
25 Posts

Posted - Dec 28 2019 :  12:14:13 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I've realized recently that I've been feeding a superiority complex for at least a couple years now. It's so subtle, I could hardly tell.

It is difficult for me to truly listen to others. I, however, love expressing my views and perspectives on the world. Before someone is even done talking, I'm already thinking about what I'm going to say next.

It really impacts my relationships quite a lot. I feel this complex has permeated everything from my psyche to my behaviors in my day-to-day.

Whenever someone close to me expresses sadness or a problem they've been having, my first instinct is to tell them what they should do to fix that. Or if my girlfriend feels sad, I'll tell her to try not to judge the feeling, that kinda thing.

I feel like I've closed out a whole world. I don't even know where to begin. Empathy clearly is not my strong suit.

Does anyone have any advice for me? I really don't want to live like this anymore

SeySorciere

Seychelles
1532 Posts

Posted - Dec 28 2019 :  02:46:36 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply

I smile because I have spent years practicing Listening... listening properly with all your attention.
Like everything else you want to get better at, you practice !

Sey

Go to Top of Page

BlueRaincoat

United Kingdom
1730 Posts

Posted - Dec 28 2019 :  04:52:39 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
But you are realising it, redbushlighter. Your meditation practice has brought you to this realisation. This is progres!

From personal experience, I'd say inner silence fixes this. When the mind is still, the thoughts of others are your own thoughts. That is listening.

You are on the right track. Enjoy your practice!